Coming out to parents as trans

This is a video about my own experiences coming out to my family in the fall of 2004. It was a painful time – my father was sick with non-hodgkin’s lymphoma and my relationship with my mother had been strained for many years. Complicating matters was that I was living in Canada while they were in South Africa.

I’m posting this because I want to share with people the challenges transgender people face. Often we lose the people closest to us in the process of trying to find peace of identity. If I can say anything to parents with transgender children it’s that those children love you and look up to you. Don’t deny them your love. We all deserve a place on this planet. And being transgender is not an easy journey; help your children find peace with themselves. Acceptance goes a long way.

Leave a Reply

